Mobile Version Print

ECF Community Recycling Centres - Archive

Community Recycling Network Banner


ECF Community Recycling Centres (Service completed in the first quarter of 2021)

The first Environment and Conservation Fund (ECF) Community Recycling Centre opened in 2009 and since then several centres have come into operation to extend recycling to neighbouring areas not covered by the Source Separation of Domestic Waste (SSW) Programme. For example, buildings in older districts do not have any property management company in overseeing a recycling programme nor the space for waste recovery facilities.

The ECF Community Recycling Centres offer a solution by providing collection outlets for recyclable waste at the neighbourhood level and promoting waste reduction and recycling in the local community. The centres are operated by NGOs with strong ties with local residents’ groups.

Starting from 2020, the EPD has regularized the funding support for the Community Recycling Centre projects previously funded by the Environment and Conservation Fund, and engaged non-profit making organizations in setting up 22 Recycling Stores in 18 districts across the territory, with a view to enhancing the community recycling network. Please click here for more details about Recycling Stores.

Bring Your Recyclables to a Community Recycling Centre:
brown_point.gif

Local residents register as members of their local Community Recycling Centre. They can exchange waste plastics delivered to the centre for daily commodities such as rice, tissue rolls or instant noodles. They also are encouraged to bring in small waste electrical and electronic equipment and glass bottles.

brown_point.gif

Environment Ambassadors are on hand to promote source separation of waste. They also visit the residents’ groups of domestic buildings, shop owners, school principals and responsible persons of social institutions, to invite them to join the SSW Programme, and to collect separated plastic waste from their buildings/premises. The Ambassadors occasionally hold promotional activities in their neighbourhood to appeal to local residents to participate in SSW.

The collected plastic waste is baled and picked up by recyclers. (Plastic waste collected via other recycling programmes in the neighbourhood can also be brought to the ECF Community Recycling Centres for pick-up by recyclers.)

Photos of Community Recycling Centres
Recycling Ambassadors are collecting plastics from a building Collected plastics are being compacted by a baler in a Centre

Recycling Ambassadors collect waste plastics.

Collected plastics are baled by a baler at a Community Recycling Centre.

流動版 列印

环境及自然保育基金社区回收中心 - 资料库

Community Recycling Network Banner


环境及自然保育基金社区回收中心 (服务于2021年第一季已结束)

首间环境及自然保育基金社区回收中心于2009年启用,此后陆续有更多中心投入运作,在未被家居废物源头分类计划涵盖的社区推展废物回收。例如,位于旧区的单幢楼宇没有物业管理公司执行及管理回收计划或没有空间摆放废物回收设施。

有见及此,环境及自然保育基金社区回收中心在旧区内提供回收点,促进收集区内已经由市民分类好的可循环再造废物。回收中心是由与区内居民组织有紧密连系的非政府机构运作,除提供废胶收集服务外,他们并会在社区推广减废及废物回收活动。
由2020年起,环保署为社区回收中心项目提供常规化拨款,以合约形式委聘合资格的非牟利机构在全港18区设立并营运22个「回收便利点」,逐步取替社区回收中心,以强化社区回收网络。有关「回收便利点」详情请按此

携带回收物料到社区回收中心:
brown_point.gif

区内居民可登记成为社区回收中心的会员并可携带指定数量塑胶废料往社区回收中心换取米、厕纸或即食面等日用品。我们亦鼓励市民将玻璃樽、小型的废电器及电子产品送往社区回收中心。

brown_point.gif

环保大使会探访住宅楼宇的居民组织、店铺东主、学校校长及社会机构的负责人,向他们推广减废回收,邀请他们参与废物源头分类计划,并从他们的楼宇或处所收集已分类的塑胶废料。环保大使亦会在社区举办推广活动,吸引居民参与废物源头分类计划。

任何交往社区回收中心的塑胶废料经压缩后会由回收商收集。(在邻近地区经其他回收计划收集得来的塑胶废料亦可送到社区回收中心处理。)

社区回收中心照片
Recycling Ambassadors are collecting plastics from a building Collected plastics are being compacted by a baler in a Centre

回收大使收集塑胶废料

社区回收中心的压捆机正压缩塑胶废料