Mobile Version Print

FAQ

Frequently asked questions
1
What schools are eligible for funding support under ECF?
 
 
Government funded schools including aided schools, schools of Direct Subsidy Scheme, CAPUT schools, special schools, etc are all eligible for funding support under ECF.
As for Government schools, they should earmark funding under the Government’s minor building works according to the prevailing practice and the Architectural Services Department will carry out the necessary retrofitting works upon the approval of the earmarked funding.
 
 
2
How long does it take for the Secretariat of the Waste Reduction Projects Vetting Subcommittee to process and approve an application?
 
 
The processing time depends on the sufficiency /adequacy of the information provided by the applicant and the complexity of individual projects. In general, the Secretariat recommends schools to submit their applications at least 6 months before the anticipated commencement of implementing ‘on-site meal portioning’ to allow sufficient time for detailed design, getting consents from relevant government departments for the conversion works, and tendering etc.
 
 
3
If we submit the application now, would it be possible for us to implement ‘on-site meal portioning’ in the next school term?
 
 
If schools could submit applications by end of March, there is a chance that the works for ‘on-site meal portioning’ could be carried out and completed during the summer vacation in the same year for normal cases. However, planning for the works would take longer if complications arise due to difficult on-site situations, missing drawing records, etc.
 
 
4
Will applications from schools of older designs (e.g. schools built in 70’s and 80’s) be considered and approved?
 
 
Schools may fill-in the ‘request for site visit to school to access feasibility of implementing on-site meal portioning’ form for return to the Secretariat of the Waste Reduction Projects Vetting Subcommittee under the Environment and Conservation Fund Committee. The Secretariat will arrange Electrical and Mechanical Services Trading Fund (EMSTF) to carry out a school site visit for a preliminary assessment to determine the feasibility of such implementation.
 
 
5
The school is a small-scaled school, is there any requirement on the minimum number of students participating in ‘on-site meal portioning’?
 
 
The number of students and the class structure of applicant schools may also be considered during the vetting of applications. Although there is no minimum number of students/classes for applicant schools, if the relevant number of students or number of classes is relatively small compared to that of similar schools, the application may be given a lower priority depending on the situation of each case.
 
 
6
Will applications from schools without canteen / suitable dining area be considered and approved?
 
 
Schools may fill-in the ‘request for site visit to school to access feasibility of implementing on-site meal portioning’ form for return to the Secretariat of the Waste Reduction Projects Vetting Subcommittee for conducting feasibility assessment. Schools may consider to convert multi-purpose rooms, covered playground etc. to become designated dining area or arrange students to have lunch in classrooms. The Waste Reduction Projects Vetting Subcommittee will assess the applications on a case-by-case basis.
 
 
7
We are already implementing ‘on-site meal portioning’. Are we eligible for the funding support?
 
 
Schools which are already implementing ‘on-site meal portioning’ can also submit applications, and the merit of each application will be considered on a case-by-case basis.
 
 
8
What will be the long-term arrangement for the maintenance and replacement of works and equipment funded by the ECF?
 
 
For works, schools can apply for repair and maintenance in the annual major repair exercise. For equipment, schools will follow the prevailing practice by making use of the block grant provided to schools to cover the expenses on maintenance and replacement of equipment after the warranty period.
 
 
9
We are a school in housing estate maintained by the Housing Authority. What will be the maintenance arrangement?
 
 
Schools may follow the prevailing maintenance arrangement.
 
 
10
Who will bear the recurrent costs on manpower, electricity and water?
 
 
Manpower, electricity and water costs are meal preparation costs to be borne by lunch suppliers and reflected in the meal price according to the prevailing practice.
 
 
11
What will be the arrangement for new schools under design or construction?
 
 
We will endeavour to contact all these schools to offer advice on a case-by-case basis. If you are one of them, please come forward by ringing up Environmental Protection Department's Customer Service Centre 2838 3111.
 
 
12
Do we need to obtain a food business licence to operate the school canteen?
 
 
A food business licence is not required if the food preparation/handling processes in question are conducted in a school canteen provided for the use of the pupils, teachers and staff of the school.
 
 
13
Do we need to obtain a licence under the Water Pollution Control Ordinance to operate the school canteen?
 
 
Wastewater discharge from school canteens in sewered area are not subject to licensing control under Water Pollution Control Ordinance. Schools should adopt good kitchen practices to minimize wastewater and to properly operate and maintain the grease traps.

流動版 列印

常见问题

常见问题
1
哪些学校可以申请「环境及自然保育基金」的资助?
 
 
所有政府资助学校,包括津贴学校、直资学校、按位津贴学校及特殊学校等,均可申请「环境及自然保育基金」。而官立学校则需按照惯常做法,在政府小规模建筑工程项目下预留拨款。拨款通过后,建筑署会负责加装所需的基本设施。
 
 
2
学校递交了「环保午膳(现场派饭)」申请表格后,「减少废物项目审批小组」秘书处需时多久审批申请?
 
审批时间将按照申请表格的数据是否齐全、工程复杂程度等因素而定。一般而言,学校需于预计实施「现场派饭」日期前最少六个月递交附上全部数据的申请书以预留充足时间进行详细的工程设计、向有关政府部门申请工程批准及招标等工作。
 
 
3
假如本校实时递交申请,可否赶及新学年实行「现场派饭」?
 
 
如学校于3月底前提交申请,估计一般个案的工程有可能于同年的暑假期间施工并完成,让学校赶及于新学年实行「现场派饭」。然而,较为复杂的个案,如现场环境较特殊、欠缺图则纪录等,规划工程所需的时间可能会较长。
 
 
4
是否会考虑和批出落成时间较早的学校(如建于70或80年代)提出的申请?
 
 
学校可将「要求到访学校以评估现场派饭的可行性」表格以交予环境及自然保育基金委员会辖下减少废物项目审批小组秘书处。秘书处会安排机电工程营运基金到访学校进行初步评估,以确定实行「现场派饭」的可行性。
 
 
5
本校是一所小型学校,申请学校有没有最少学生数目的要求?
 
 
在考虑申请时,减少废物项目审批小组亦会参考一般相类学校的学生人数及班级结构,如果申请学校的学生人数或班级较少,审批小组可能会个别考虑,有关申请会暂不获优先考虑。审批小组并没有就班别及参与学生的人数订立最低标准,而审批小组会因应每一间学校的情况作个别考虑。
 
 
6
学校现时没有饭堂/合适午膳场所,是否仍可申请资助
 
 
可以,学校可向减少废物项目审批小组秘书处递交「要求到访学校以评估现场派饭的可行性」表格以进行初步评估。学校可将多用途活动室、有盖操场等地方改装成饭堂或安排学生于课室午膳,减少废物项目审批小组将会根据每一间学校的情况审批申请。
 
 
7
本校现已实行「现场派饭」,也可以申请「环境及自然保育基金」的资助吗?
 
 
现已实行「现场派饭」的学校同样可以提出申请,我们会根据个别个案的情况予以考虑。
 
 
8
由「环境及自然保育基金」资助的改建工程和设备,日后需要维修和更换,会有怎样的安排?
 
 
工程部份,学校可按照现行的程序在日后申请维修/保养。设备方面,当保养期过后,学校可灵活运用现行的津贴支付保养/购置有关设备的费用。
 
 
9
本校是一所由房委会维修的邨校,维修的安排会有什么不同?
 
 
学校可按照既定机制安排维修有关的设施。
 
 
10
人手、水和电的经常性开支由谁负责?
 
 
人手、水和电属备餐过程的必要开支,一般由膳食供应商支付,并反映在餐价之上。
 
 
11
已踏入设计或兴建阶段的新校舍会有什么安排?
 
 
我们会尝试联络所有这类学校,并就着学校个别的情况提供建议。如你们是这类学校的其中一间,亦请你们主动联络环保署的顾客服务中心(电话:2838 3111)。
 
 
12
学校需要自行申领「食物业规例」牌照吗?
 
 
在学校备餐专供学生、老师和校内员工享用,不需申领「食物业规例」牌照。
 
 
13
学校需要申领「水污染管制条例」牌照吗?
 
 
已接驳污水渠的学校,不需就着因备餐而产生的污水排放申领「水污染管制条例」牌照。学校应透过适当的管理措施减少污水排放,和妥善使用及维修隔油池。