Mobile Version Print

Recovery of Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment

WEEE Recycling Programme


 


Background

Each year, Hong Kong households and corporates throw away more than 70,000 tonnes of waste computers and waste electrical and electronic equipment. Some of these items are still in good working condition and could be put to second-hand use. All of them contain components and materials that could be recovered for reuse and recycling, such as metals and plastics.

To reduce the quantity of waste computers and waste electrical and electronic equipment disposed of at landfills, the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) launched a Territory-Wide Trial Recovery Programme in January 2003. The programme has been well received by the public and more than 40,000 waste computers and electrical and electronic units are being recovered and processed each year. This trial programme became the basis for the Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) Recycling Programme which was launched in September 2005, and also allow us to accumulate relevant experience to prepare the producer responsibility scheme (PRS).

Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) Recycling Programme

The WEEE Recycling Programme aims to channel WEEE for reuse and recycling instead of disposal. Since October 2010, St James' Settlement (SJS) was granted funding support from the Environment and Conservation Fund (ECF) to implement the WEEE GO GREEN programme to enhance the service and move from the Kowloon Bay Waste Recycling Centre to a larger recycling workshop at the EcoPark WEEE Recycling Centre. This programme is focused to recycle major designated items, including television sets, refrigerators, washing machines, video or audio equipment, microwave ovens, fans, water heaters, rice cookers, air-conditioners, heaters, electronic games and mobile phones. Other home electrical appliances will also be collected to recycle. In the past six years, the different types of WEEE collected through the WEEE GO GREEN programme amounted to about 1,600 tonnes in total, all of which have been reused or recycled. The collected items that are still serviceable are donated to the needy for reuse after checking and refurbishment. Other items are dismantled and recycled. It is estimated that to date the programme has donated over 25,000 pieces of refurbished equipment to some 7,800 needy families.

Progressive Implementation of Producer Responsibility Scheme

The implementation of the PRS on WEEE is making good progress while the WEEE Go Green programme operated by SJS was expired by October 2016. Various services provided under the WEEE Go Green programme have been succeeded by the operator (ALBA-IWS) of the Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Treatment and Recycling Facility (WEEETRF) under the PRS or by other services to further assist people in properly handling their e-wastes. At present, the WEEETRF is under construction. The operator is also making the necessary preparations for the operation phase, including the progressive establishment of the collection network.​

Extension of various services

The various WEEE collection, donation and refurbishment services have been succeeded by the WEEETRF’s operator or by other services. Details are as follows.​

 

 

Collection Service

   
1. EPD, via the WEEETRF operator (ALBA-IWS) operates the hotline (2676 8888) as a one-stop shop for members of the public to make enquiries on and arrange e-waste collection service. In addition, EPD is progressively developing one Community Green Station in each of the 18 districts and the initiative will progressively enhance the logistics support to community recycling activities.
 

 

Donation Service

   
2. ALBA-IWS has set up a team which will be responsible for arranging serviceable e-waste items to be donated to the needy for reuse. Such service has started to accept applications from 1 August 2016. For air conditioners, refrigerators, washing machines and televisions, the items will be donated after checking and refurbishment. For the other types of equipment, replacement will be arranged if the donated items are found dysfunctional.
 

 

Dismantling Service

   
3. The WEEETRF operated by ALBA-IWS will have the capability to handle 30,000 tonnes of e-waste annually, turning it into resources after a series of detoxification, dismantling and recycling processes. It is estimated to be commissioned by mid-2017. Before that, the operator will stockpile e-waste items that are not suitable for reuse for future treatment by the facility upon its commissioning.

 

   

Moreover, EPD's mobile collection vehicle continues to collect electrical appliances, as well as computers, rechargeable batteries, compact fluorescent lamps and fluorescent tubes. The vehicle visits a different district each week.

 

The EPD is also involved in the Computer and Communication Products Recycling Programme organised by the computer trade. This is run on similar goals of refurbishing useable equipment for the needy, and dismantling the remainder for recycling.

For other enquiries, please contact EPD at 2838 3111. Any enquiries can also be directed to the EPD at: enquiry@epd.gov.hk.

Resources
1. Application Form  
- Application for Refurbished WEEE  Download
2. Information Sheet  
- Waste Cathode Ray Tubes Download
3. Press Release  
- Progressive implementation of producer responsibility scheme to boost e-waste recycling  
  4-8-2016

流動版 列印

旧电器回收计划

旧电器回收计划

 


背景
每年,全港扔掉超过7万公吨废电脑及电器产品。部分被弃置的电脑及电器仍可正常运作,可作二手用途。此外,这些物品均含有有用的零件及物料,包括金属及塑料等,可以回收再用或再造。

环境保护署(环保署)于2003年1月推出一项旧电脑及电器回收计划,以减少弃置在堆填区的数量。该计划受到公众的大力支持,每年回收及处理的旧电脑及电器产品超过4万件。该计划更为于2005年9月推出的旧电器回收计划垫下基础,亦让我们累积相关经验,以方便筹备生产者责任计划。

旧电器回收计划


旧电器回收计划旨在通过回收废旧电器及电子产品作循环再用或再造,以减少弃置的废物。自2010年10月起,圣雅各布福群会获得环境及自然保育基金资助,加强回收服务,由九龙湾综合回收中心搬到较大的屯门环保园,推行『绿色家电环保园』项目及营运环保园家电再生中心。此项目集中回收主要指定物品包括电视、雪柜、洗衣机、影音器材、微波炉、电风扇、热水壶、电饭煲、冷气机、暖炉、电子游戏机及手提电话,而其他一般家用电器亦会回收处理。过去六年,『绿色家电环保园』项目所收集到的各类废电器电子产品约共1600公吨,全部都得以重用或循环再造。收集所得的电器废物如仍可操作,经检查及修理妥当后会转赠予有需要的家庭及人士重用;余下的电器废物则会透过拆解程序,循环再造。估计项目一共向7800个受助家庭送出超过25000件经修复的电器。

逐步迈向生产者责任制度

随着废电器电子产品生产者责任计划(计划)的筹备工作取得积极进展,「绿色家电环保园」项目已於2016年10月届满。而「绿色家电环保园」的各项服务已由计划下的废电器电子产品处理及回收设施(处理设施)营办商 - 欧绿保综合环保(香港)有限公司 (欧绿保),或其他服务承接,以便利巿民妥善处理电器废物。目前,有关处理设施正在兴建中,而营办商亦正为其营运阶段展开规划,包括逐步建立收集网络。

各项服务的延续安排

「绿色家电环保园」项目服务包括电器收集丶转赠及拆解等服务,已由处理设施营办商或其他服务承接,详情如下:

 

收集服务

   
1. 环保署透过处理设施营办商(欧绿保)运作热线电话(2676 8888),提供一站式服务,让巿民查询及安排电器回收服务。此外,环保署现正分阶段在全港十八区各设立一个「绿在区区」项目,将逐步加强为社区上的回收活动提供物流支援。
 

 

转赠服务

   
2. 欧绿保已成立小组,继续安排把仍可操作的电器废物免费转赠有需要的家庭及人士重用。有关服务自2016年8月1日起开始接受申请,其中,冷气机丶电冰箱丶洗衣机丶电视机四类电器会在转赠前安排逐件检查及修理,其馀则在转赠後如发现属坏件,便安排更换。
 

 

拆解服务

   
3. 欧绿保运作的处理设施预计每年可提供约3万公吨的处理量,透过除毒丶拆解和循环再造等工序化废为材。预计可於2017年中落成启用,在此之前,欧绿保将把收集所得而不适合重用的电器废物暂时储存,留待处理设施日後处理。

 

另外,环保署的流动收集车会继续收集旧电器、旧电脑、充电池及废弃的荧光灯。收集车每星期会停放在不同地区收集上述废弃物品。

环保署亦参与由电脑生产商和供货商筹办的「电脑回收计划」。与本回收计划一样,「电脑回收计划」旨在把可用的产品转赠有需要人士及将其余产品拆件,产品内有用的零件和物料会回收再造。详情请参考电脑及通讯产品回收计划

如有任何其他疑问,欢迎致电2838 3111联络环保署,亦可电邮环保署:enquiry@epd.gov.hk查询。

资源
1. 申请表格  
- 电器重用申请 下载
2. 资料单张  
- 显像管废物 下载
3. 新闻公报  
- 回收电器有门路 逐步迈向生产者责任制度  
  4-8-2016