Mobile Version Print

Environmental Guidelines on Mooncake Packaging Design

Environmental Guidelines on Mooncake Packaging Design

 

 

Millions of boxes of mooncake are consumed every year, generating considerable amount of waste such as metal containers and other packaging materials. To provide guidance and help to mooncake manufacturers in introducing environmental considerations in their packaging design, the Environmental Protection Department ("EPD") issued the "Environmental Guidelines on Mooncake Packaging Design" in 2005. By adopting environmentally friendly packaging, mooncake manufacturers will be able to provide add-on value for their products through optimising the various factors during the design stage, such as environmental protection, hygiene, shelf-life, transportation, appearance, brand image and costs.

To promote environmental management of packaging materials, the EPD invited the major local mooncake manufacturers to sign the Voluntary Agreement on Management of Mooncake Packaging between 2008 and 2012. Under the Agreement, the participating manufacturers committed to conserving resources through better design and production processes, facilitating the re-use and recycling of used packaging materials, and minimising the adverse environmental impact arising from the disposal of used packaging in their manufacturing and retail operations. In particular, the mooncake manufacturers would:

  • Contain the use of packaging materials per unit weight of mooncake to the level of the year in which the Agreement was signed, and endeavour to further reduce packaging materials to practicable limit;
  • Adopt packaging materials that are recyclable and with minimum environmental impact on post-consumption management; and
  • Support and facilitate recovery and recycling of used packaging materials.

The Voluntary Agreement has successfully raised the environmental awareness of the concerned local mooncake manufacturers to improve their product packaging. Overall speaking, there is less excessive packaging as compared to that in the past.
 

Latest Development

With the Voluntary Agreement Scheme ending in 2013, the EPD revised the "Environmental Guidelines on Mooncake Packaging Design" in early 2014 to provide the benchmark for reference of the mooncake manufacturing industry and continued to monitor and review the eco-friendliness of packaging methods of local mooncake products through periodic surveys. Overall speaking, the environmental awareness of the local mooncake manufacturers has been improving in the recent years and there is less excessive packaging as compared to that in the past. The EPD will continue to monitor market trends and encourage mooncake manufacturers to adopt more environmentally friendly packaging.

流動版 列印

月餅包裝設計的環保建議

月餅包裝設計的環保建議

 

 

市民每年食用月餅數以百萬盒計,當中所產生的鐵盒和其他包裝物料等廢物數量相當可觀。為月餅生產商在其包裝設計上引入環保考慮因素提供指引及協助,環境保護署(「環保署」)在2005年向業界發出了「月餅包裝設計的環保建議」以供參考。藉著採用環保包裝,月餅生產商能在設計過程中平衡環保、衞生、保質、運輸、外觀、品牌形象及成本等多項因素,為產品提升附加價值。

為推動包裝物料的環保管理,環保署在2008年至2012年間與一些本地主要月餅生產商簽訂「自願性月餅包裝管理協議」。在協議下,生產商承諾透過改善其產品設計及生產程序以保護資源,促進包裝物料重用與循環再造,並致力減少在生產及零售運作中就棄置包裝物料對環境造成的負面影響。簽訂協議的月餅生產商會:

  • 把每月餅重量單位所使用的包裝物料保持在簽署年度的水平;並在可行的範圍內盡力進一步減少包裝物料;
  • 選取可循環再造及在用後處理時對環境帶來最少影響的包裝物料;及
  • 支持及促進包裝物料的回收及循環再造。

自願性協議成功提高了相關本地月餅生產商的環保意識,在產品包裝上作出改善,整體上已較少出現以往過度包裝的情況。
 

最新發展

隨著自願性協議計劃在2013年完結後,環保署在2014年初修訂了「月餅包裝設計的環保建議」,以供月餅生產業界作參考基準,並一直進行定期調查,監察及檢視本地月餅包裝方法的環保表現。整體而言,近年本地月餅生產商的環保意識已提高不少,較少出現以往過度包裝的情況。環保署會繼續留意市場發展趨勢,並鼓勵月餅生產商更多採用環保包裝。