Mobile Version Print

Fluorescent Lamp Recycling Programme

Fluorescent Lamp Recycling Programme
 
To enhance the public awareness in the recycling of fluorescent lamps & tubes, EPD has launched a Helpdesk with Hotline (5575 4068). Service Hours: 8:30 am – 6:30 pm, Monday to Friday.  Property management / representatives of housing estates and buildings interested to participate in the Fluorescent Lamp Recycling Programme are welcome to call the Hotline to enquire for more information and register.
 
 

Introduction

SAVE ENERGY and RECYCLE


Fluorescent lamps, especially compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs), reduce electricity consumption and greenhouse gas emissions. Moreover, some components can be recycled.
The lamps contain metal, glass and tiny amount of mercury. The mercury is well within international safety limits, but since mercury is a toxic substance, care should be taken during the collection and disposal of the used lamps.

To this end, the Fluorescent Lamp Recycling Programme (FLRP) for households has been established by the lighting industry, with support from the Environmental Protection Department (EPD), to collect and treat mercury-containing lamps in line with international practices.

It's easy for everyone to participate in the FLRP. When fluorescent lamps are spent, wrap them up to prevent breakage and bring them to the collection points at the participating housing estates, public collection points, or E-waste collection vehicle. Recycle used fluorescent lamps, and help protect the environment! Find a collection point near you.

 
About the Fluorescent Lamp Recycling Programme


Launched in March 2008, the FLRP is a voluntary Producer Responsibility Scheme that is currently funded by 11 members of the lighting trade to provide households with free collection and treatment for all used mercury-containing lamps, including compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs), fluorescent tubes and high intensity discharge lamps. The objective is to reduce the environmental risk from improper disposal of these lamps and to recover resources.

Commercial and industrial premises do not come under the programme because many organizations have already recycled their lamps in accordance with the Waste Disposal Ordinance. As required under the law, any premises that store a significant quantity (eg. over 500 pieces) of used mercury containing lamps have to register with the EPD as a chemical waste producer, and arrange for proper collection and treatment of the used lamps at the Chemical Waste Treatment Centre. Please contact the contractor of the Chemical Waste Treatment Centre at 2434 6450 to arrange for bulk collection and treatment of the used lamps.

 

What to Recycle

The Fluorescent Lamp Recycling Programme accepts all spent mercury-containing lamps. These include:

compact fluorescent lamps
Compact Fluorescent Lamps

other fluorescent lamps (including straight tubes and other shapes)
Straight tubes Round tubes

high intensity discharge (HID) lamps
HID Lamp
 

Place used lamps in the packaging that comes with new lamps before depositing them in the collection box for recycling.

Broken lamps should be sealed in a plastic bag. Protect yourself with disposable rubber gloves and take other precautions when cleaning up broken lamps.

The collection and treatment service is free of charge – households do not have to pay anything to recycle their lamps.

 

Where to Recycle

 

The Fluorescent Lamp Recycling Programme provides collection points for the residents of the participating housing estates and the general public to recycle mercury-containing lamps. The service is free of charge – the collection and treatment costs are covered by the lighting industry.

 
Participating Housing Estates
Public Collection Points
Mobile Collection Vehicle
 

 

1.
Public Collection Points 
  Some shopping malls and retail outlets have set up collection points under the FLRP to collect spent lamps for subsequent recycling at the Chemical Waste Treatment Centre.
 

List of Public collection points:

HK Island
Kowloon
 
 
 
New Territories
 
 
 

 

 

2.
Participating housing estates 
 

More than 1,400 housing estates have signed up to the programme. Residents can bring their used lamps to their estate's collection point for recycling.

 

List of Participating Estates/Buildings:

(Please check the collection schedule with your estate management)

HK Island
Kowloon
 
 
 
New Territories
 
 
 
 
 
3.
E-waste Collection Vehicle Service
 

The EPD's E-waste collection vehicle collects spent fluorescent lamps, as well as electrical appliances and computers. It is intended to serve members of the public who may not have access to the collection points set up at the participating housing estates. The vehicle visits a different district each week.

 

Recycling spent fluorescent lamps


Licensed chemical waste collectors pick up the spent lamps from designated points and deliver them to the mercury treatment facility at the Chemical Waste Treatment Centre. The treatment facility was commissioned in 2004 to handle mercury-containing waste such as lamps, thermometers and blood-pressure meters. The facility was upgraded in 2012 and its annual capacity is around 3,500,000 mercury-containing lamps. The facility has 6 treatment units to separate the mercury glass, metal and other lamp components. Mercury bearing powder and metal parts are heated up in a distiller to recover the mercury for recycling, and the remaining waste is treated before being sent to the landfill for disposal.


Lamp Processor

Compact Crush & Separation Unit
HID Lamp Crusher
 
Compact Crush & Separation (CCS) and HID Lamp Crusher
 
 
 
Treatment Process
Treatment Process
 
Fluorescent lamps and tubes are fed into the CCS and HID Lamp Crusher for separation into glass fraction, phosphor powder and metal parts.
 
 
 
Treatment Process
Treatment Process
 
Mercury bearing powder or metal parts are then heated up in the distiller where mercury will be vaporized. After that, mercury vapour is condensed and recovered.
 
Existing controls on mercury-containing waste


The Waste Disposal Ordinance requires large producers of mercury-containing lamps to properly collect and dispose of the waste. The lamps are taken to the Chemical Waste Treatment Centre, which has special handling and storage arrangements for the lamps. The mercury is separated and recycled, and the broken lamp pieces are treated before being sent to landfills for disposal.

 

How to join

If your estate is interested in joining the programme, please complete the enrolment form and return it to Helpdesk. Upon confirmation of your enrolment, a free collection and recycling service will be provided for residents of your estate. This programme is not applicable to the waste generated from commercial and industrial sector, including the fluorescent lamps and tubes installed at public area of the buildings.

Small quantity producers

You should follow the attached Guidance Notes on the arrangements.

Guidance Notes - Participating Housing Estates (non chemical waste producers)

Collection will be arranged from your estate according to a district roster once every six months. If the provided storage containers are filled up before the scheduled collection date, the estate management can call the FLRP's collection contractor at 5482 8391 to make a special trip to collect the lamps.

In case of doubt, you may contact the Help Desk Hotline at 5575 4068.

Large quantity producers

If your estate generates or processes a large quantity (for example over 500 pieces) of spent mercury-containing lamps, you have to register as a chemical waste producer and follow the requirements stipulated under the Waste Disposal Ordinance and Waste Disposal (Chemical Waste)(General) Regulation.

Guidance Notes - Participating Housing Estates (registered chemical waste producers)


For existing registered waste producers who have not included mercury-containing lamps in the chemical waste producer registration form, you need only to notify the Regional Office of EPD in writing (sample notification letter) to include it as an additional waste stream; no fee will be incurred for the inclusion.

To collect used fluorescent lamps from your residents, the estate management can set up a mercury-containing lamp storage area at a new or an existing chemical waste storage area, and follow proper labelling and packaging requirements as currently practiced for managing chemical waste (see A Guide to Waste Producers for Handling and Disposing Spent Mercury-Containing Lamps). If you have accumulated 500 pieces of spent lamps or more, you can call the contractor of Chemical Waste Treatment Centre at 2434 6450 to arrange for collection of the lamps.

 
Participating Organisations


The FLRP is currently supported and funded by 11 lighting companies. EPD serves as the FLRP's Programme Advisor by providing advice and support to the programme and promoting the FLRP to the public. The Hong Kong Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Recycling Association is the programme manager.

Supporting organisations include the Hong Kong Association of Property Management Companies, Hong Kong Housing Authority, Hong Kong Housing Society, Hong Kong Electronics & Technologies Association, four green groups (Environmental Association, Friends of the Earth (HK), Green Power, and World Green Organisation),Business Environment Council, Sunshine Lighting Ltd, Japan Home Centre (HK) Ltd, Pricerite Stores Ltd, Sun Hung Kai Properties Ltd, E Lighting Group Holdings Ltd. and Future Lighting Collection Ltd.

 
 
Industry members include:
E Lighting Group Holdings Ltd. Future Lighting Collection Ltd.
Greenpower Company LEDUS Lighting Technology Ltd
Luen Yick Electrical Mfg. Co., Ltd. Maxgrand Ltd. 
Megaman (HK) Electrical & Lighting Ltd Philips Electronics HK Ltd.
The Dairy Farm Co., Ltd. - IKEA The Dairy Farm Co., Ltd. - Wellcome
The Westwood    
       

Organising Companies Logo 

 

Find Out More About the FLRP
 
Useful Contacts
   
  - Arrangement of Collection Service for Participating Estates:
     
  Registered as chemical waste producers - CWTC Customer Service : 2434 6450
  Not registered as chemical waste producers - Collector Hotline : 5482 8391 (Vannex International Limited)
 
     
      - FLRP Enrolment Hotline: 5575 4068 (Helpdesk)
     
     
    Downloads & Resources
    1. Frequently Asked Question (FAQ)  
    2. Application Form  
    3. Guideline
    -
    Guidance Notes - Participating Housing Estates (registered chemical waste producers)
    -
    Guidance Notes - Participating Housing Estates (non chemical waste producers)
    -
    Guidance Notes - Commercial and Industrial Chemical Waste Producer
     
    4. Poster   
    5. Recycle Clean - Fluorescent Lamp  
    6. Collection Box
    -
    Public Collection Point
     
    -
    Compact Fluorescent Lamps ONLY
     
    -
    Compact Fluorescent Lamps and Fluorescent Tubes
    -
    Estate
     
    7.

    Chemical Waste Producer Application Form

     

    8.

    Loan Out Service of Education Materials
    -
    Loan Form
    -
    List of Materials for Loan

     

     


    archive

流動版 列印

悭电胆及光管回收计划

Fluorescent Lamp Recycling Programme
 
为提升大众对回收悭电胆及光管的认识,环保署设立了支援平台及热线 (电话: 5575 4068) 。服务时间为星期一至星期五:早上8:30至下午6:30。有兴趣参与悭电胆及光管回收计划的屋苑 / 大厦的物业管理或其代表亦可致电热线查询详情及登记参与。
 
 

前言

节约能源 循环再造


荧光灯特别是紧凑型荧光灯泡(俗称「悭电胆」),除可节约用电量外,还可减少排放温室气体,而所含有的部分物料更可以循环再造。荧光灯所含的物料包括金属、玻璃和微量水银。尽管水银的含量完全符合国际安全限度,但属有毒物质,在运输及弃置时必须小心处理。

就此,照明设备业界在环境保护署的协助下,为市民提供悭电胆及光管回收计划(下称「回收计划」),按照国际的做法回收和处理含水银的荧光灯。

参与这项回收计划轻而易举。若需弃置坏悭电胆或光管时,应小心包好以免弄破灯胆或光管,然后送交分布全港多个收集点  - 包括参与屋苑、公众回收点和废旧电器回收车。回收悭电胆和光管,为保护环境出一分力!寻找附近的回收点

 
关于悭电胆及光管回收计划


悭电胆及光管回收计划是一个自愿性生产者责任计划,由业界资助,於2008年3月推出,为家居免费回收和处理各类含水银的旧灯管,包括悭电胆丶光管和高强度气体放电灯。目的除了减少因不当处置这类灯管所带来的环境威胁外,亦可回收有用的物料供循环再造。

这项计划不适用于工商业处所,因为很多机构已按照《废物处置条例》妥善处理荧光灯。根据法例规定,任何处所贮存大量的废弃含水银灯管(例如超过500个),便须向环保署登记为化学废物产生者,及安排妥善收集和送交化学废物处理中心(下称「处理中心」)处理。如须安排收集和处理废弃荧光灯,请致电2434 6450与处理中心承办商联络。

 

可回收的荧光灯

回收计划接受各类废弃的含水银灯管,包括:

悭电胆
悭电胆
其他荧光灯管(包括直管和其他形状光管)
直管  环管
 
高强度气体放电灯
高强度气体放灯管
 

请用新灯管的包装物料把旧灯管装载好,才将灯管放入收集箱内回收。

破烂的灯管必须放入胶袋内密封。在清理破烂的灯管时,必须戴上用完即弃的胶手套和采取其他保护措施,以策安全 (见常见问题:处置破烂荧光灯的步骤)

计划所提供的收集和处理服务是免费的 – 家庭住户无须为回收荧光灯支付任何费用。

   
 

收集点网络

 
回收计划为参与的屋苑居民和一般巿民提供回收点以回收含水银灯管。这项服务无须收费  –  收集及处理费用均由照明设备业界负责。
   
 
参与屋苑
公众回收点
流动收集车辆
   
 

 

 
1.
公众回收点 
 

一些商场及店铺已为回收计划设立回收点收集废弃的荧光灯,随后会送到处理中心循环再造。

  公众回收点列表: 
 
香港岛
九龙
 
 
 
新界
 
 
 
   
   
   
 
2.
参与屋苑 
 

約1,400多个屋苑已报名参与这项计划。住户可以将旧荧光灯交到所住屋苑的收集点回收

  参与屋苑列表:(请与你的屋苑管理处查询收集时间表)
 
香港岛
九龙
 
 
 
新界
 
 
 
   
   
   
   
 
3.
废旧电器回收车服务
  环保署的废旧电器回收车收集废弃的荧光灯和旧电脑及电器,以便为其他市民(非参与屋苑的居民)提供服务。收集车每星期会停放在不同地区收集上述废弃物品。

 

 
荧光灯的循环再造流程


回收计划的持牌化学废物收集商会从指定地点(见收集点网络)收集废弃荧光灯及运送到处理中心的水银废物处理设施。该处理设施在二零零四年启用,专门处理含水银的废物,例如荧光灯、探热针及血压计等。该设施亦於二零一二年进行提升工程,现时处理量已增加到每年可处理约350万个含水银的灯管。该设施内的六组装置会将水银丶玻璃丶金属和其他灯管组件分离。

含有水银的粉末及金属会放入蒸馏处理设施进行加热,以便回收水银循环再造。而剩下的固体废物则会经过处理后运往堆填区弃置。


悭电胆处理设备

灯管压碎分离处理设施
灯管压碎分离处理设施
 
灯管压碎分离处理设施和高汞灯处理设施
 
 
 
处理过程
处理过程

利用灯管压碎分离处理设施和高汞灯处理设施,打碎荧光灯管或高汞灯,并分选出碎玻璃 、
萤光粉及金属物质。

 
 

 

处理过程
处理过程
 

含水银的废料会放进蒸馏处理设施进行加热化和净化水银,气化的水银冷却后被回收再用。

现行对含水银废物实施的管制


《废物处置条例》规定,任何人产生或大量贮存含水银的废弃灯管,必须妥善收集和处置,并将废弃荧光灯送交化学废物处理中心作特别处理和贮存。处理中心将荧光灯所含的水银取出作循环再造,而光管或灯胆的碎片会经过处理才运到堆填区弃置。

 
如何参与

倘若贵屋苑有兴趣参加这项回收计划,请填妥参加表格并交回支援平台。申请一经确认后,回收计划会为贵屋苑的居民免费安排收集及回收服务。但这项计划不适用于工商业所产生的废物,包括源自大厦公用地方所安装的悭电胆及光管。

处置少量废灯管的产生者

你应按照附件工作指引。

工作指引 - 参与屋苑 (没有登记成为化学废物产生者)

回收计划会每6个月轮流到各区的屋苑提供收集服务。如果获发的贮存桶在预定的收集日期前已载满,可致电(电话号码:5482 8391)回收计划的收集承办商特别安排前来收集。

如有疑问,请致电支援平台热线5575 4068查询。

处置大量废灯管的产生者

假如贵屋苑会产生或处理大量的废弃含水银灯管(例如超过500个),你便须登记为化学废物产生者并按照《废物处置条例》及《废物处置(化学废物)(一般)规例》所订的规定。

工作指引 - 参与屋苑 (已登记为化学废物产生者)


已登记的废物产生者如没有在化学废物产生者登记申请表加入「含水银灯管」这个项目,只须以书面通知环保署区域办事处加入此类别即可,无须缴付费用。

在收集居民弃置的含水银灯管时,屋苑管理处可在屋苑新设立或现有的化学废物贮存区/场地辟出地方专门用来贮存含水银的灯管,并按照目前管理其他化学废物的一般方法,适当地标识和包装这类灯管(参阅废物产生者指引 - 处理及处置废旧光管与水银灯管)。如果所收集的废弃荧光灯管累积达500个或以上,可致电(电话号码:2434 6450)通知处理中心承办商,以便安排收集。

 
参与机构

现时有8间照明设备供应商支持及资助本回收计划。环保署担任计划的顾问,提供支援及向公衆宣传推广。香港电器及电子设备回收协会爲计划管理监督。

支持单位还包括香港物业管理公司协会丶香港房屋委员会丶香港房屋协会丶香港电子科技商会丶四个绿色团体(环保协进会丶香港地球之友丶绿色力量和世界绿色组织)丶商界环保协会丶阳光照明有限公司丶日本城(香港)有限公司丶实惠家居有限公司丶新鸿基地産有限公司丶壹照明集团控股有限公司及未来照明有限公司。

 
 
参与公司包括:
壹照明集团控股有限公司 未来照明有限公司
联益电器制品厂有限公司 万廸有限公司
曼佳美(香港)照明电气设备有限公司 香港宜家家居
牛奶有限公司 - 惠康 西宝城
 
主辦公司
 
认识更多关於本回收计划
 
常用联络资料
   
  - 参与屋苑的回收服务安排:
     
  已登记为化学废物产生者 - 化学废物处理中心服务热线 : 2434 6450
  没有登记成为化学废物产生者 - 承办商热线:5482 5391 (科域国际有限公司)
     
  - 悭电胆及光管回收计划报名热线: 5575 4068 (支援平台) 
 
下載及资源
1. 常见问题  
2. 参加表格  
3. 指引
-
工作指引 - 参与屋苑 (已登记为化学废物产生者)
-
工作指引 - 参与屋苑 (没有登记成为化学废物产生者)
-
工作指引 - 工商业化学废物产生者
 
4. 海报  
5. 清洁回收_悭电胆  
6. 收集箱
-
公众回收点
 
-
只限悭电胆
 
-
悭电胆及各类荧光灯管
-
屋苑
 
7. 化学废物产生者登记申请表  
8. 外借教材服务
-
申请
-
外借教材表