Mobile Version Print

Details

Making Waste Separation More Convenient

The main objective of the Programme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste (the Programme) is to facilitate residents to separate waste at source by encouraging and assisting property management companies to provide waste separation facilities within their estate / building premises for increasing the quantity of recyclables collected and reducing the amount of waste disposed. Residents only need to do is to separate recyclables in their waste by category, such as waste paper, metals and plastics, and then take them to the designated recycling points in their estates. This is very convenient.
 
'Tailor-made' for Each Estate
Each participating housing estate is encouraged to adopt a waste separation and recovery system that best suits its particular physical and other characteristics and that is convenient for residents to use. For instance, waste separation facilities, in compliance with relevant building and fire safety requirements, can be set up at such locations as refuse rooms or staircase landings on each floor. In a refuse room, property managers may install a wall-mounted shelf for collecting waste paper and separate bins for metals and plastics, or they may provide a bin with compartments for different types of recyclables. In staircase landings, they may install metal collection bins. Collection times can also be adapted to suit needs, for instance by collecting different types of recyclables on different days of the week, say, metals on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and plastics on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.
 
The recyclable items are separated within each estate and sold directly to recyclers The recyclable items are separated within each estate and sold directly to recyclers. Management companies or cleansing contractors can pass on the benefits of the extra income to residents.
 
In Lei King Wan, residents stack waste paper on a wall-mounted shelf in the refuse room and deposit metals and plastics in designated collection containers.
spacer.gif

Technical Support
Arrangements can be made for staff of the Environmental Protection Department to visit individual housing estates / residential buildings and attend residents’ meetings to introduce the Programme and provide the necessary technical support (e.g. appropriate locations for setting up waste separation facilities, procurement of waste separation bins, outlets for recovered recyclables, and etc).

Increase in Subsidy Level of ECF Funding Support
To encourage more private housing estates / residential buildings to set up waste separation facilities on building floor, the Environment and Conservation Fund (ECF) is now open for residents' organisations and property management companies to apply for funding support. A sum of $5 million has been allocated by the ECF Committee for this purpose.

Incorporated owners' committees, owners' committees or any residents' organisations of private housing estates / residential buildings are eligible to apply for the Fund.  Property management companies acting on behalf of the residents' organisations of the private housing estates / residential buildings are also eligible for submission of applications. Funds will be granted for partial support to the set-up cost of the Programme.  A limit of 50% of the total actual expenditure spent on the approved waste separation facilities on each building floor, not exceeding a limit of HK$1000 per building floor, will be reimbursed.

Applicants should complete the Application Form and return to the Environmental Protection Department.  Applications will be processed on a first come first served basis.

Anyone who is interested in the funding scheme, please refer to our newly released Guide to Application for detailed application procedure or call 2867 4810 for more information about the scheme.

Education and Promotion Support
A variety of promotional activities are helping to educate people about waste separation and raise awareness on how they can participate. Announcements of Public Interest are broadcast on TV and electronic media, and leaflets and posters are distributed to participating housing estates. Talks, exhibitions and road shows on source separation are arranged from time to time in various locations. These can also be arranged for individual housing estates or residential buildings.

Periodic Collection of Specific Types of Reusable/Recyclable Materials
In addition to setting up waste separation facilities, housing estates are also encouraged to organise periodic large-scale collection programmes for specific types of reusable / recyclable materials, such as clothing, waste electrical and electronic equipment and computers, for donation to charitable organisations or resale to recyclers.
 

Commendation Scheme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste

In order to encourage the housing estates / residential buildings participating in the Programme to further increase the quantity of recyclables recovered, reduce the amount of waste requiring disposal and increase residents’ awareness and participation, we organise a Commendation Scheme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste on a yearly basis to commend those housing estates / residential buildings with outstanding performance.  We also issue a Letter of Appreciation to each of the participating housing estates / residential buildings to thank for their support to the Programme. You may click here for details of the Commendation Scheme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste.

 

Promotion Programme on Source Separation of Waste

In addition to setting up waste separation facilities on each floor, placing waste separation facilities on the ground floor of each building block or commonly accessible areas is an important measure to implement waste recycling in domestic premises. In this regard, the Environmental Campaign Committee (ECC) has launched a Promotion Programme on Source Separation of Waste under which ECC would distribute free waste separation bins to housing estates that are willing to join or have joined the Programme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste. The free bins are of two types that are suitable for indoor and outdoor environments respectively. If you are interested in the ECC’s Promotion Programme, please click here for more details.

流動版 列印

详情

方便居民进行废物分类
「家居废物源头分类计划」的主要目的是透过鼓励及协助物业管理公司于屋苑/住宅大厦范围内提供废物分类回收设施,方便居民在源头进行废物分类,以提高回收物料的收集数量和减少废物的弃置量。居民只需把可回收的物料 (如废纸、金属和塑料) 分类好,然后放置于屋苑内的指定回收地点便可,非常方便。
 
「度身订造」、各适其适
我们鼓励各屋苑根据其实际环境和其他特点,「度身订造」最合适的废物分类回收模式,以方便居民使用。例如屋苑可在符合相关建筑及消防安全要求下,于楼层垃圾房或楼梯平台设置废物分类回收设施。在垃圾房内,物业经理可安装挂墙的层架收集废纸并利用另置的回收箱收集金属及塑胶,或可以用分层的回收箱收集不同的可回收物料。而在楼梯平台则可设置金属的废物分类回收桶。回收时间也可以各适其适,如在不同的日子收集不同的可回收物料 (例如在星期一、三、五收集金属类可回收物料,而星期二、四、六则收集塑胶类可回收物料)。
 
屋苑会将分类好的可回收物料直接售予回收商 屋苑会将分类好的可回收物料直接售予回收商。而管理公司或清洁承办商可将该笔额外收益回馈给居民。
 
在鲤景湾,居民只需将废纸叠放在垃圾房的挂墙层架上,而金属及塑胶类可回收物料则可放入特定的回收箱内。
spacer.gif
技术支援
环境保护署可安排人员亲访各屋苑和住宅楼宇,并参与居民大会,以介绍计划和提供所需的技术支援 (如设置废物分类回收设施的合适地点、如何购买废物分类回收桶以及可回收物料的出路等)
 
 
环境及自然保育基金资助额现已增加
为鼓励更多私人屋苑/住宅大厦于楼层设置废物分类回收设施,环境及自然保育基金 (环保基金) 现正公开接受居民团体及物业管理公司申请,以资助屋苑/住宅大厦。环保基金委员会为此用途已拨出了500万元。
 
私人楼宇的业主立案法团、业主会或任何居民组织均合资格申请环保基金,物业管理公司亦可代表私人楼宇的居民组织提出申请。批出的环保基金将会用作资助计划的部分开办费用,每个屋苑可获发放不多于已批每层废物分类设施实际总开支的50%,每楼层的资助额以港币1000元为限。
 
申请人可把填妥的申请表格交予环境保护署,申请将会以先到先得方式处理。
 
任何人如对上述资助计划有兴趣,可参阅申请指引内有关详细申请步骤或致电2867 4810以获取更多资料。
 
教育及宣传支援
我们举办不同的宣传活动以教育市民有关废物分类回收的知识和参与计划的方法。我们也在电视和电子媒体播放政府宣传短片,并向参与的屋苑派发单张和海报。同时,我们不时在全港不同的地点举办有关废物源头分类的讲座、展览和巡回推广活动,并为个别屋苑或住宅楼宇安排类似的活动。

定期收集其他种类的可重用/可回收物料
除了在楼层设置废物分类设施外,我们亦鼓励屋苑定期举办大型的回收活动,以收集其他种类的可重用/可回收物料,如旧衣、旧电器及电脑等,并可将回收物品捐赠予慈善机构或售予回收商。
 
家居废物源头分类奖励计划

为鼓励参与计划的屋苑/住宅楼宇积极提高其废物回收量、减少其废物弃置量及提高住户对废物源头分类的了解和参与,我们会每年举办「家居废物源头分类奖励计划」,以表扬表现卓越的屋苑/住宅楼宇。此外,我们亦会向所有参与屋苑/住宅楼宇发出感谢函,以表谢意。有关「家居废物源头分类奖励计划」详情可点击此处

 
废物源头分类推广计划
除了在楼层设置分类回收设施外,在楼宇的地下大堂或屋苑的公用地方放置分类回收设施也是实施废物回收的重要措施。有见及此,环境运动委员会 (环运会) 已推出「废物源头分类推广计划」。在这推广计划下,环运会会免费派发回收桶予愿意参加或已参加「家居废物源头分类计划」的屋苑。免费派发的回收桶可分两类,分别适合放置于室内或室外使用。任何人士如对上述环运会的推广计划有兴趣,请按此处查阅有关详情。