Mobile Version Print

Rechargeable Battery Recycling Programme

Rechargeable Battery Recycling Programme
 
New MessageTo enhance the public awareness in the recycling of rechargeable batteries, EPD has launched a Helpdesk with Hotline (5575 4068) with effective from 1 March 2017. Service Hours: 8:30 am – 6:30 pm, Monday to Friday. We commissioned Business Environment Council to operate the Hotline and help the public if they would like to recycle rechargeable batteries. Property management / representatives of housing estates and buildings interested to participate in the Rechargeable Battery Recycling Programme are welcome to call the Hotline to enquire for more information and register.
 

Introduction

 

RECYCLE! your rechargeable batteries

A lot of everyday products contain rechargeable batteries. And while it helps the environment to re-use batteries, the benefits don't extend to disposal.

Rechargeable batteries contain materials that can be hazardous to people and the environment. They also contain valuable materials that can be recovered for use in other products, such as magnetic alloy and stainless steel. The best solution is to recover the batteries and recycle them.

It's never been easier to recycle your batteries. The Rechargeable Battery Recycling Programme, run by the EPD, industry and green groups, has collection points all over Hong Kong. So when your rechargeable battery finally dies, don't throw it away. Recycle it! Find a collection point near you. 


Pilot Mobile Phone Battery Recycling Programme
The first battery recycling programme in Hong Kong began in April 2002 with the launch of the pilot Mobile Phone Battery Recycling Programme. This was funded and organised by mobile phone and battery manufacturers and supported by the telecommunications industry and the EPD, making it the first voluntary producer responsibility scheme in Hong Kong. The results showed that rechargeable battery recycling was technically feasible and cost-effective.
 
Mobile Phone Battery Recycling Programme has been extended to cover other rechargeable batteries
 
Rechargeable Battery Recycling Programme

The next step was to widen the programme to include other rechargeable batteries. A tri-partite Working Group was set up in early 2004 with members from industry (including producers, importers and retailers of rechargeable batteries and electrical/electronic equipment), the EPD and green groups. On 9 April 2005, the Working Group launched the Rechargeable Battery Recycling Programme.

This programme is also organised and funded by industry, making it another voluntary producer responsibility initiative. The EPD and four green groups, Friends of the Earth, Green Power, Environmental Association and World Green Organisation, provide technical and administrative support and promote the programme to the public. The Hong Kong Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Recycling Association is the programme manager.

A tri-partite Working Group includes members from industry, the EPD and green groups
In the first year 13 tonnes of battery waste were collected, or 320 000 rechargeable batteries. That represented about 5% of the total waste rechargeable batteries, a respectable result given that other countries achieve a 2% - 3% recovery rate. Of course, we want to do better. The Working Group is continuing to oversee the programme and will consider areas of improvement. Rechargeable Battery Recycling

流動版 列印

充电池回收计划

充电池回收计划
 
New Message为提升大众对回收充电池的认识,环保署在2017年3月1日开始设立支援平台及热线 (电话: 5575 4068) 。服务时间为星期一至星期五:早上8:30至下午6:30。我们操作热线及协助公众回收充电池。有兴趣参与充电池回收计划的屋苑 / 大厦的物业管理或其代表亦可致电热线查询详情及登记参与。
 

前言

 

回收充电池,环保齐支持!

我们日常使用的电子产品普遍以充电池作为电源供应。充电池可以重复使用,有助保护环境。但用完的充电池如不能妥善弃置,对环境会造成影响。

虽然充电池所含的物料会危害人体健康和环境,但这些物料具回收价值,可以循环再造,制成其他产品,例如磁合金和不锈钢。因此,回收再造是解决充电池处置问题的上策。

现在回收充电池只是举手之劳。环保署、业界和环保团体合办的「充电池回收计划」,在全港各处地点设置充电池回收点。当你的充电池不能再使用时,千万不要随便弃置,应交回循环再造。寻找附近的回收点

 
香港推行充电池回收计划的历程

流动电话电池回收试验计划
随着「流动电话电池回收试验计划」于二零零二年四月推出,香港展开了首个电池回收计划。计划由流动电话及电池制造商资助和筹办,并得到电讯业及环保署的支持。这项计划也是香港首个透过自愿性生产者责任计划推行的回收计划,试验结果充分证明回收充电池不但在技术上可行,亦符合成本效益。
 
流动电话电池回收计划已扩展至其他充电池
 
充电池回收计划

接下来的工作便是扩大计划的范围,回收所有充电池。为此,业界(包括充电池和电器╱电子产品的生产商、进口商和零售商)、环保署及环保团体在二零零四年年初成立一个三方伙伴工作小组筹划细节,并在二零零五年四月九日推出「充电池回收计划」。

这项计划同样由业界资助和筹办,是另一个自愿参与的生产者责任计划。环保署及四个环保团体,即地球之友、绿色力量、环保协进会和世界绿色组织,则提供技术和行政支援,以及负责向巿民宣传推广。香港电器及电子设备回收协会为计划管理监督。

业界、环保署及环保团体成立一个三方伙伴工作小组

 

 

 
在计划推行的首年,环保署共回收了13公吨废弃充电池(相等于32万枚),占废弃充电池总数大约5%。与其他国家的2 %至3%回收率相比,香港的成绩相当不俗。当然,我们希望能够进一步提高回收率。工作小组会继续监督这项计划,以及改善计划的不足之处。 回收充电池,环保齐支持