Mobile Version Print

Recycling Bins in Public Places

The Environmental Protection Department (EPD) takes over the management of recycling bins in public places such as roadsides from the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) starting from 1 October 2020.

The EPD has progressively replaced the labels on the recycling bins in public places with the new design. The recycling bins in public places will be enhanced to achieve ‘Bigger Capacity, Easy Reporting’.


“Bigger Capacity” – the litter compartment currently connected with the recycling bins will be changed to collect recyclables such as waste plastics to increase the collection capacity and help the public avoid putting litter into recycling bins by mistake. This should help increase the cleanliness of recyclables collected along the roadside.
“Easy Reporting” – new labels with a QR code and service hotline number will be put on the recycling bins to enable the public to report matters such as overfilled or damaged bins to improve the efficiency of the recyclables collection contractor in taking follow-up actions. Each recycling bin has independent QR code and Recycling Bin Code. Members of the public could scan the QR code to access the online form, in which the Recycling Bin Code and Location will be automatically filled in, opinion or enquiry on Recycling Bin Overfilled or other matters could then be selected to report. Members of the public can also call 6623 6343 or via WhatsApp to enquire matters about the roadside recycling bins.



The Clean Recycling QR code is also printed on the new label. The guidelines on clean recycling can be accessed by scanning the QR code to understand each type of recyclables and the proper procedures on clean recycling.


Members of the public can make use of the mobile application “Waste Less” of the EPD to locate the recycling bins nearby or being placed in public places. Apart from showing the locations of the recyclables collection points through maps and instant search, the “Waste Less” mobile application also provides relevant information and knowledge on recycling.

流動版 列印

公共空間回收桶

環境保護署(環保署)2020年10月1日起從食物環境衞生署接手設置在路旁等公共空間的廢物分類回收桶的管理工作。

環保署已陸續為各區的行人空間回收桶張貼新標貼,以達至『增容量 易通報』。


增容量 – 原本與現有回收桶直接相連的廢屑收集箱會改為收集回收物,既能增加回收物如廢膠的收集容量,又能減低市民把廢屑誤放回收桶的機會,期望有助提升路邊回收物的乾淨程度。
易通報 – 回收桶會貼上附有智能二維碼和熱線號碼的新標貼,方便市民通報回收桶滿溢、損毀等事宜,有助提升回收物收集承辦商的跟進效率。每個回收桶均有獨立二維碼及編號,市民掃描二維碼即可打開網上表格,回收桶編號及位置會自動填入,點選回收桶滿溢或填入其他事項即可匯報。市民亦可致電6623 6343或透過WhatsApp熱線,查詢有關行人空間回收桶的事宜。



新標貼亦印有乾淨回收二維碼,掃描二維碼即可打開乾淨回收指引,了解各種可以回收的物料,以及乾淨回收的適當程序。


市民可透過環保署的「咪嘥嘢」流動應用程式,尋找鄰近所在位置或設置在公眾地方的廢物分類回收桶。「咪嘥嘢」除了以地圖和即時搜尋的形式展示回收點的位置外,亦會提供回收資訊及知識。