Mobile Version Print

GREEN @ COMMUNITY

To strengthen the support for waste reduction and recycling at the district level, the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) is actively building a new community recycling network, including Recycling Stations, Recycling Stores and Recycling Spots, and promoting different initiatives across the territory with a view to gaining more support from the public to go green and instill a green living culture in the community.

All Recycling Stations, Recycling Stores and Recycling Spots accept at least eight common types of recyclables, including paper, metals plastics, glass bottles, regulated electrical equipment, small electrical appliances, fluorescent lamps and tubes, and rechargeable batteries, etc. The recyclables collected would be sorted and then delivered to the downstream recyclers for subsequent processing. 

To facilitate and encourage the public to use the community recycling facilities, the EPD introduced the GREEN$ (Greeny Coins) smart card on 16 November 2020, for the public to earn GREEN$ and exchange gift items. Members of the public bringing not less than 2 kg of recyclables to the new community recycling network can register to get a GREEN$ smart card. By showing the GREEN$ smart card or the QR code image printed on the back of the card in subsequent submission of recyclables, the public can earn GREEN$ for redemption of gift items.

GREEN @ COMMUNITY has been rebranded to become a new community recycling network. It uses the word "green" as the concept and the homophonic number "6" in Cantonese as the logo. Its design is also consistent with the prefix "G " of “GREEN” and its form is similar to the common recycling symbol, with meaning of going green in endless cycle.


Recycling Stations

Since 2015, the EPD has engaged non-profit making organisations to operate Recycling Stations (formerly known as Community Green Station) through open tenders. The Recycling Stations proactively connect with housing estates and property management companies in the respective districts to establish a service network through different recycling programmes and educational activities. Recycling Spots (mobile booths for recyclable collection) are also set up at public places and collection vehicles are deployed to collect recyclables in the districts. 

As of October 2020, there are nine Recycling Stations in operation across the territory. The Recycling Stations have collected over 7,000 tonnes of recyclables, conducted more than 5,900 environmental education events in the form of exhibitions, presentations, workshops or other activities and received more than 1,250,000 visitors.

Click here for more details about Recycling Stations.


Recycling Stores

Starting from 2020, the EPD has regularized the funding support for the Community Recycling Center projects previously funded by the Environment and Conservation Fund, and engaged non-profit making organizations in setting up 22 Recycling Stores in 18 districts across the territory, with a view to enhancing the community recycling network. All the Recycling Stores will be in operation progressively by end 2020.

To facilitate public participation in recycling, the Recycling Stores are set up at convenient locations with enhanced services, including:

  • Extended daily service hours (from 9am to 7pm)
  • Increased service days (Open every day except Christmas and Chinese New Year holidays)
  • Night-time self-service recycling
  • Recycling Spots at regular location and weekly schedule
  • More environmental education activities
  • A social media page to promote waste reduction and recycling

Click here for more details about Recycling Stores in individual districts.



Recycling Spots

To facilitate and encourage the public to practice source separation of waste and clean recycling, the EPD has progressively set up over 100 Recycling Spots at regular location and weekly time schedule since the 4th quarter of 2020.  The Recycling Spots are located near single block and 3-nil residential buildings, where waste separation facilities are limited, to facilitate the residents to participate in recycling, so as to achieve "Save More, Recycle More".

Click here for more details of Recycling Spots.

流動版 列印

「綠在區區」

為加強支援地區層面的減廢回收,環境保護署(環保署)正積極構建社區新的回收網絡,在全港十八區推展不同項目,當中包括「回收環保站」、「回收便利點」及「回收流動點」,以支援公眾實踐減廢回收,讓綠色生活紮根社區。

「回收環保站」、「回收便利點」及「回收流動點」均會接收不少於8種回收物,包括廢紙、金屬、塑膠、玻璃樽、四電一腦、小型電器、慳電膽及光管、充電池等。收集到的回收物會經過分揀,再運送至合適的下游回收商作後續處理。

為便利和鼓勵市民使用社區回收設施,環保署通過智能回收系統先導計劃,於2020年11月16日推出「綠綠賞」智能積分卡,讓市民憑卡賺取電子積分及兌換禮品。市民於社區新的回收網絡提交不少於2公斤的回收物後,即可作簡單登記領取一張「綠綠賞」積分卡。此後提交回收物時,只需出示「綠綠賞」智能積分卡或印於積分卡面背後的二維碼影像,即可賺取相應的「綠綠賞」電子積分以兌換禮品。

「綠在區區」已重新塑造形象,成為一個社區新的回收網絡品牌,以「綠」字為概念,取諧音數字“6” 為標誌,其設計亦與英文“GREEN” 的字首“G”及常見循環再造標誌的形態相近,寓意綠色生活無處不在,“綠綠”無窮。


回收環保站

由2015年起,環保署以公開招標方式委聘非牟利團體營辦「回收環保站」(前稱為「綠在區區」)。 「回收環保站」透過不同的回收計劃和教育活動,積極聯繫區內屋苑和物業管理公司,建立服務網絡,並在區內設立回收流動點,派出回收車支援區內收集可回收物。

截至2020年10月,全港已有九個「回收環保站」投入服務,累計收集超過7,000公噸可回收物,舉辦逾5,900個展覽、講座、工作坊或其他形式的環保教育活動,招待訪客超過125萬人次。

搜尋「回收環保站」的詳情請按此


回收便利點

由2020年起,環保署為原本由環境及自然保育基金資助的社區回收中心項目提供常規化撥款,以合約形式委聘合資格的非牟利機構在全港18區設立並營運22個「回收便利點」,以強化社區回收網絡。所有「回收便利點」將於2020年年底前陸續投入服務。

 

為方便公眾參與回收,「回收便利點」會設立在便利居民的地點,而服務亦會有所提升,當中包括:

  • 延長每天服務時間(早上九時至晚上七時)
  • 增加服務日數(除聖誕節及農曆新年假期外,全年開放)
  • 增設夜間自助回收服務
  • 增設區內定時定點回收街站
  • 提供更多環保教育活動
  • 設立社交平台專頁推廣減廢回收資訊

搜尋各區的「回收便利點」請按此

 

回收流動點

為方便和鼓勵公眾參與廢物源頭分類及乾淨回收,環保署於2020年第四季起陸續在全港各區設立超過100個「回收流動點」,以每週定時定點街站形式運作。「回收流動點」主要位處缺乏分類回收設施的單幢式及「三無」住宅樓宇附近,以便利居民參與回收,做到「慳多啲、點止三色咁簡單」。

搜尋各區「回收流動點」請按此